Lucifer's Valet

BUT I LIKE SOME OF THOSE SONGS!

Posted in Culture Vulturing by lucifersvalet on 2 December 2009

Dept. of De Gustibus Non Est Disputandum.

In fact, some of them have been favorite songs. & “I’ll Fly Away”? Isn’t badmouthing that blasphemy?

On further thought, what makes them “worst” songs is not that they are unspeakably dull but that they’re catchy, for some irritatingly catchy. Me, I’m a sucker for catchy. In fact it’s taken me a long time to like non-catchy music. The first time I heard it I thought Pod was dull, dull, dreadfully dull. The only song I liked was the Beatles cover.

In fact, the songs have to have some catch for them, or you wouldn’t want to listen to a medley of them, even as a mock. So there!

& what about Oates & Garfunkel themselves? I like them too! & they’re kind of catchy & cute. It’s easy to imagine them making some worst-ever list.

Or is there some further level of irony I’m missing here? Because I miss those things. The other day I was complaining to a friend about an A Team rerun I’d seen & he said, “I pity the fool who can’t tell it’s tongue in cheek!”

I thought that was funny.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nick said, on 3 December 2009 at 6:01 am

    I will go the wall for Sixpence None the Richer!!

  2. […] This poem had been a favorite of mine since my undergraduate days & the collected O’Hara was out of print & I’d stand in the stacks reading through the library copy.  Mostly I like the first phrases of the last stanza w/its romantic evocations and such. Then I read the Marjorie Perloff book on O’Hara & she singles this poem out as one of his failed efforts on account of it being too much not about anything. & I’d singled it out, from the vast welter of poems in the collected, as one I liked! Oh well, file that with the Dept. of But I Like That Song! […]


Leave a Reply

