Lucifer's Valet

GOING FORWARD

Posted in Hermeneutic Friendship, Narcissistic Self-Loathing, Poeticks by lucifersvalet on 13 August 2011

(1) I will do something. I promised Reginald I would do something, & I want to start doing that.

(2) I will do nothing interesting. Ray and Peli are interesting. But if I keep worrying that nothing I can say is interesting, I won’t be able to do something.

(3) Some of the things I will do will be very basic. The kind of things a clever undergraduate should know. However, I want to put down some foundation, stuff to build up from. This stuff could be kept in journals & off the internet, but in the interests of (1), that is, to help me establish the habit of doing something, I will put it here. & it’s not as if more people will read this than might read my journals, esp. if I keep leaving them lying about.

Not that I’m entirely embarrassed by simplicity. Once I wanted to write literary criticism the way Wittgenstein wrote philosophy. Of course, this was just a notion. I lacked all of the requirements for such a project, most importantly, the drive to do it. Still, Wittgenstein seems to show that basic considerations can be important. These days I’d call it a means for the re-enchantment of the world.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ray Davis said, on 14 August 2011 at 7:37 am

    Correction: We have it on good authority that my weblog is not at all interesting. I nevertheless have faith that in hastening Cultural Apocalypse it serves Our Master. HAIL SATAN!


Leave a Reply

